I have served as a peace officer in Marshall County since 1991, first serving in the community of Gilman and joining the Marshall County Sheriff's Office in 1994 as a deputy sheriff assigned to patrol. I have held a number of positions including traffic safety & education officer; motorcycle officer, drug task force investigator and sergeant. I have been a trainer certified as an instructor in defensive tactics and striking instruments since 1997 and was appointed to serve as the agency's third-in-command as Chief Jailer in July, 2005; serving in that capacity through July, 2014 at which time I received the appointment as Chief Deputy. Upon assuming the agency role as second in-command, responsibilities include the area of field-services: patrol division, investigation division, civil division and transportation division, as well as other administrative duties for the agency.

Appointments & Community Involvement:

  • Team Captain, National Multiple Sclerosis Society 150-mile Bike Tour (2005-Present) annual fundraiser

  • Iowa Valley Leadership, Class of 2006-2007

  • Alliant Utility Powerplant Advisory Board (2007-2009)

  • Iowa State Sheriffs' & Deputies' Association-Legislative committee member (2007-Present)

  • Panelist- Simpson College Fall 2007 Criminal Justice Conference, "When Policy is the Problem"

  • Iowa Supreme Court Task Force on Courts of Limited Jurisdiction (2008)

  • American Red Cross, Iowa Rivers Chapter Board of Directors (2008-2014)

  • American Red Cross, Vice-Chairman, Iowa Rivers Chapter Board of Directors (2009-2010)

  • Iowa Public Employees' Retirement System Benefit Advisory Committee (IPERS BAC) (2009-Present)

  • American Red Cross, Chairman, Iowa Rivers Chapter Board of Directors (2010-2014)

  • Court Mental Health Workgroup 2010 (Iowa House File 2526)

  • Iowa Valley Leadership Steering Committee (2011-Present)

  • Mental Health and Disability Redesign 2011; Judicial & DHS Workgroup (Senate File 525)

  • Boy Scouts of America TAMAHA District, Nominating Committee Chair (2014, 2015)

  • Not In Our Town (NIOT), Board member (2015-Present)

  • Domestic Violence Coalition member (2015- Present)

  • Sexual Assault Response Team, committee member (2015-Present)

  • American Red Cross Community Volunteer leader (2014-Present)


  • Iowa State Sheriffs' & Deputies' Association

  • National Sheriffs' Association

  • National Rifle Association